Home

DYLAN
“I don’t want to make any huge generalisations about women. You know. I’m not here to do that. It’s vulgar. But all I’d say is that they have no feelings.

Because it’s actually men, you’ll find, who are the far more romantic. Men are the people you hear say

‘I’ve found somebody. She’s amazing. If I don’t get to be with this person, I’m fucked. I can’t carry on. I mean, no, I mean it. She’s totally transformed my life. I have a job, I have a flat, it means nothing. I can’t stand it. I have to be with her. Because if I don’t I’ll end up in some bedsit, I’ll be alcoholic, I’ll have itchy trousers. I can’t… I can’t walk the streets anymore…’

That… That is how women feel about shoes.”

Dylan Moran here works on a similar line to Louis CK. He begins by making an incredibly bold and offensive statement, but spins a story about a man in love. We can all connect to this idea of unrequited love, and so we connect emotionally. Comparing this to how women consider footwear could be deemed offensive, but we know he doesn’t believe it, but he highlights a common stereotype and approaches it from a different angle.

Leave a Reply

